One hundred answers

MY 100

1. Who are you?
A child. Green eyes, round face…sandy/ amber / light sometimes – dirty blonde irregular waves.

2. What are you like?
Genuinely tempestuous…generally cheerful. Positive. Curious. Impatient. I forget easily. I live every minute. I enjoy every second. I see joy in sorrow and tears in laughter. I live each day as if it were the last one. I live to be happy and make people around me happier. On the inside…I am the opposite…despite my balance, my thoughts and silences are tearful, my solitudes are devastating and my torments are never-ending. The stars still shine and the good prevails over the evil, in the end…fairytales exist.

3. What do you like most?
Chocolate, water, books, high heels, diamonds and movies. In the exact same order.

4. How do you know people?
Through sorrow, pain, illness and misery. When you’re crushed and smashed and ruined. It’s the best way to know people and to love those who stay beside you in both their and your worst times.

5. What do you do for a living?
I work. I market. I communicate. I learn. I strive. I become better. I discover. I write. I make mistakes. I try to minimize them.

6. What would be your dream job?
I’d love to work for a traveler’s guide. Or be part of any wildlife documentary done for the Discovery Channel or National Geographic. Second best – CNN correspondent/ anchor.

7. What are your worst fears?
Solitude. Disappointing my son. Failing.

8. What would you change in your life?
I would move to an ocean city. It’s the only change I fear…but I am sure I will do it someday.

9. What’s on your wish list?
Paint my son’s room. Take up photography. Revamp my kitchen furniture. Get my wardrobe detoxed. Learn to wakeboard and snowboard with my son. Get the motorcycle permit. Photo-shoot with my best friends. Country tour by car.

10. The most important person in your life?
My blue-eyed boy…he is my treasure-keeper.

11. The least important person in your life?
Whoever talks about me without knowing me. Whoever judges me before judging their own life. Whoever thinks and acts against me and my dear ones. They are the least important persons in my life. I know they exist…but I ignore them completely.

12. Real life hero?
My mum. She doesn’t know it….she’s a guardian angel. Not only for me. I think that for all the persons she has ever touched. Despite all tempests…

13. What do you mostly dream about?
That I smile…and swim… and that I live in a beautiful colonial house by the sea.

14. Nicest dream?
I don’t remember it in detail…but coffee, Barcelona and Ryan Gosling were in it. It was something like Before Sunset

15. Worst nightmare?
My son was kidnapped.

16. What dream do you wish to come true?
The one in which I was having a worldwide impact. I had it when I was in high-school and I remember waking up one day with the impression that I will do something big! It’s common, I guess! But it’s what I would like to achieve. Do something that really changed or at least, influenced the world.

17. Favorite leisure?
Outdoors with my son. Reading. Movies. Horseback riding. Wondering the streets of any city in the world. Tennis. Running. Hiking. Mountaineering.

18. What talents would you like to have?
I’d love to play the piano magically. I studied the piano for a couple of years but never fell in love with it. I’d like to draw, paint, design…

19. Addictions that you admit?
Chocolate. Sometimes I feel addicted to the gym. I’m not a fitness fanatic, but I can’t live without sports…nor my six pack.

20. First dream come true?
To live in Spain.

21. Best dream come true?
One week in New York.
22. Most unexpected surprise of your life?
Motherhood…it’s breath taking…

23. Favorite movie?
The Bridges of Madison County.

24. Favorite song?
So maaaanyyyy…if I have to pick a couple – Luther Vandross –Dance with my father ( it makes me think of my grandparents), Donna Lewis – I love you always forever ( it’s all about my son), Christina Perri – A thousand years ( my love)…

25. Priceless?
My son’s giggles. Sunshine. My best friends talking about our next trip. Kindness. Beautiful people. “I love you”, “I am sorry”, “I miss you”…”I stand by you.”…said, heard, written, read…whispered…shouted!

26. What makes you happy?
All the above and thousands of other small things. A bunch of peonies, a sunflower field, the laziness of a summer day at the beach. Games and stories with and around children. A hug. A kiss. A call. Teenagers kissing in the street. A old couple holding hands. A visit to Musee D’Orsay….

27. What makes you sad?
Orphans. Children or elderly begging. Injustice. Pride. Stupidity. Irrelevance. Malice.

28. Your relationship to God?
I find Him in me, carry Him with me, hope He is beside me, wish He watches over me.

29. The luckiest person you know?
Me.

30. One word to describe you?
Aya…it means miracle, but sound much better in Arabic. 

31. Your favorite words?
Evanescence, saudades, encapricharse….and Elisabeth Barrett Browning’s poetry.

32. Recommendations?
I rarely recommend things. I have an egoist relation with my books and my movies, and my places, and my secret cafes, my gardens, my photos, my paintings…and still I do talk about them. Paradoxically, I decided to write about them…which means I have overcome this infantile possessiveness. But I would strongly recommend a therapist for most people I know.

33. What type of art you are mostly impressed by?
Painting…I could dive into Sorolla’s or Degas’ or Matisses’ paintings and sketches endlessly.

34. Most emotional day of your life?
When my son was born…but I know it can get better…because each day is setting new standards

35. Regrets?
Missing conversations with my grandparents. Not saying I love you often enough to my parents. Missing out on being somebody’s greatest love. Being the executer of a cruel but unpremeditated heart-brake.

36. What makes you fall in love?
Passion…and beautiful eyes.

37. Do you believe in love at first sight? In love forever?
Yes…and No, not in these times…at distance, yes…I think you could love someone forever.

38. What makes you likeable? Or loveable?
Still wondering!…

39. What have you done in the name of love?
The unimaginable…the unthinkable…the undoable. The unbelievable. Sadly, I would only do part of it again…

40. What were the most special words said to you out of love?
The special ones didn’t get translated…the most special ones were unsaid…unfortunately I am multi-lingual, but I don’t do silence.

41. What do you miss most?
My adolescence. My university years. The easiness of being immature and don’t worry about it.
Being unafraid of the lack of experience, knowledge and wisdom…not that I have found them now!

42. When were you jealous the last time?
Never been. Never knew how it feels. I felt intrigued, or hurt, or enraged…but not jealous…

43. Your type of guy?
The bad one! Always! Unfortunately?! The good ones got run over, unintentionally…so, I’m bad news for good guys…and the bad ones…couldn’t tame any!

44. Best memory from your childhood?
Climbing trees and hiding with books to read from above the whole countryside. Great learning, great views, great outcome!

45. When did you feel you grew up?
When my parents let me travel alone. And when I came back home from my aunt’s and I had my first fringe!

46. What drives you crazy?
When my mum calls to check if I had breakfast, lunch or dinner… if I am wearing warm clothes in winter…if my son has eaten fruit, soup, etc…and to warn me to take care when crossing the street.

47. Favorite holidays?
Ever since my son is born, definitely Christmas. Before that, I was not into holidays…but now, it’s magical. I feel I discovered the fascination for Santa, his reindeers, the holy nights, the gifs and the surprise in my late childhood years…

48. What is your best birthday party?
It never happened yet. As a child I had my birthday parties during the summer break. My friends and colleagues were never around. My parents always invited friends with their children over, and tried to throw a great party. But it was so much different than those parties I attended throughout the school year… my 18th anniversary was a mess! I don’t remember much of it, except that the effort to get everybody out of town, and at my parents’ house in the mountains paid off…for a couple of hours.  I am not a happy b-day person! I think every day is special. Or at least it should be. Ok, I agree with celebrating the day you were born, but I never got around to enjoying a party for my anniversary…perhaps I would enjoy more a surprise party…no tendria mas remedio! 

49. What do you loathe as years go by?
That I lose innocence. I lose my confidence in the good. That the search and the battle for happiness is more and more intransigent, demanding and asymmetrical.

50. Sources of inspiration?
My son, my grandparents and their story. Powerful women. Strong words. Relevant music. Love stories – real and fictional. The street. The people around me, irrespective of the relationship I have with them. There is a mirror behind each and every one of us…I have an insane attention for details and although I seem distracted, I always focus on those pieces that compose a different puzzle than the one we want to be seen. And sometimes it’s the underneath that makes me stop or go by… once I stop, I hardly let go. Once I go by, I hardly return. First impressions never betrayed me.

51. Newest experience?
I started cooking…love to bake cakes and stews. I’m not a daredevil…but I do experiment a lot. Sometimes it’s a disaster that even my son acknowledges…other times, I do think I deserve to write a cook book. 

52. Best outfit?
Jeans. White t-shirt. Cropped black jacket…stilettos.

53. Favorite colors?
White, black, emerald green, beige. Favorite color mix – red, white and blue – for casual wear.

54. Worst outfit?
My red outfit that my mum brought me from Israel when I was ten and made me wear on several occasions. It would have been great had it not been the white bows…dreadful.

55. Favorite clothing items?
Red vintage Valentino dress. White Lanvin skirt. Leather pants. Giuseppe Zanotti high heels.

56. What would you never wear?
Platforms.
57. What do you always wear?
Diamonds

58. Lucky charms?
Santa Maria de Montserrat thread bracelet

59. Favorite designers?
Oscar de la Renta. Monique L’Huillier, Roland Mouret, Miuccia Prada, Elie Saab …first that come in mind.

60. Favorite story about clothes?
Buying my wedding veil from an artisan’s shop in Barcelona and building my dress around a sketch I drew when I was 18 and later discover that it existed in an upcoming Hannibal Laguna collection.

61. Favorite shopping destination?
Paris….and online… 

62. Worst shopping experience?
H&M Barcelona…Portal del Angel. Finally ended up taking photos of the window…

63. How many sizes did you change since your teens?
Dropped one or two…I think.

64. What kind of clothes suit you best? Which ones do you thing favor your body shape, you complexion?
I love loose fittings…comfortable and fluid textures, cotton, lace, silk…I always get compliments when I wear posh outfits. It’s a constant battle between ballerinas and stilettos…the latter have won most of them.

65. What makes you feel beautiful?
That indescribable look in the eyes of the one I love! Mix of admiration, contemplation, lust and fear…

66. Perfect day?
Morning sunshine…breakfast with croissants, orange juice and hot coffee…my son sneaking in bed…going for a jog… friends brunch at a chic café…lying on the beach in those strong arms that I love…kids playing around…my estranged dog running up and down. Tranquil dinner in romantic gazebo…Leonard Cohen’s music in the background…tucking in the kids…night ends in a fierce high end club.

67. Whose wardrobe would you like to have?
Carrie Bradshaw’s.

68. What’s your style like now?
Still confused. Still transitional. Still transcending…clutter of ideas…I know the final destination but I enjoy the ride and wonder…

69. What’s the most recurrent image in your mind when you think of fashion?
Scarlet O’Hara being tied by Mamie in a corset dress…Gone with the Wind.

70. What would be the last item you’d take off on a one night stand?
Jimmy Choos…

71. What’s the sexiest item you own?
My imagination.

72. What’s the sexiest part of your body?
My brain.

73. What’s the one fashion item that you hate and love the most?
High heels…they generate that cognitive dissonance that makes you aware of your addiction and its terrible effects but you still can’t help it! I dread the day I will open my dressing and wonder what to do with all those shoes!

74. How is the perfect guy dressed?
Despreocupado…care-free…a combination of Liam Hemsworth, George Clooney, Brad Pitt and Paul Newman. Charisma wearer! Brains bearer!

75. Perfect holiday?
Tropical island…at the beach…wherever that is…

76. Ideal destination for two weeks? A month? A year?
Depends on the purpose, the company, the context…two weeks: Portugal. A month: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Kenya, Jordan…Six months: Latin America…A year: world tour.

77. Perfect romantic destination?
Loft in New York with terrace overlooking Brooklyn Bridge.

78. How fast can you pack? How fast can you leave on a 10 days trip? How much planning do you need?
2 hours. 5 hours if you count traffic to the airport. Minimum planning. I just need to know where I am going.

79. Control freak or spontaneous laid back?
Both.

80. Extrovert or introvert?
Both.

81. What’s your personality like? What would you rather be like?
Expansive…kinesthetic…touch and feel, talkative, open. Sensual, mysterious, untouchable.

82. Craziest outfit you’d dare to wear?
Cat woman!?

83. Who’d you take to the party of the year?
Ryan Gosling…

84. Who’d you take to a book launch? A painting/ photography exhibition?
Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Picasso. Annie Leibovitz.

85. Who’d you take to the movies?
Meryl Streep.

86. Who’d you take to dinner?
Christine Lagarde

87. Who’d you like to interview? What would be the first question?
George Clooney. Would you marry me?  …Sigmund Freud. Do you think I am crazy? 

88. What did you do and never do again?
Rollercoaster ride.

89. Favorite book?
There are at least 200. Most recent lectures – De la part de la princesse morte – Kenize Mourad, El juego del angel – Carlos Ruiz Zafon, L’amour dure trois ans – Frédéric Beigbeder. I think it actually lasts around 7…but can’t prove it.

90. Favorite quote?
I find quotes on “I speak sarcasm as a second language” absolutely awesome…
Depending on the moods and whims…I go by Ortega y Gasset’s words – Life is a series of collisions with the future; it is not the sum of what we have been, but what we yearn to be.

91. Favorite line in a movie?
Love is passion, obsession, someone you can’t live without. I say, fall head over heels. Find someone you can love like crazy and who will love you the same way back. How do you find him? Well, you forget your head, and you listen to your heart. And I’m not hearing any heart. Cause the truth is, honey, there’s no sense living your life without this. To make the journey and not fall deeply in love, well, you haven’t lived a life at all. But you have to try, cause if you haven’t tried, you haven’t lived. (Anthony Hopkins in Meet Joe Black)

92. Favorite TV series?
The West Wing. Sex and The City. Mad Men. Californication. The Good Wife

93. Favorite personality?
Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

94. If you were to live a day in somebody’s life…who’d it be?
Eleanor Roosevelt.

95. If you were a man who’d you like to be?
Leonardo DiCaprio

96. If you were to take back time, who’d you first kiss?
The exact same guy I first kissed…still love kissing him!

97. Greatest love?
The impossible one.

98. Greatest achievement?
My son.

99. Last cry?
Yesterday.

100. Most hidden thought?
To be the subject of a photo shoot with Helmut Newton….neah….it’s hidden, right?

One thought on “One hundred answers

Leave a Reply

